Home Alone, Together

I wouldn’t say I long for sick kids, but last week wasn’t so bad. (For me, at least. Josh was the one with the sore throat; I just got to come along for the ride.)

School was closed for cold and ice Monday and Tuesday. By Wednesday, he was fully sick – listless and slow, curled up under a fleece throw one minute, attacking aliens in outer space on the Wii the next.

Once the big kids returned to school, it was just Joshy and me, just like old times. And I was thrust back into a routine I had hardly realized I missed. He has only been in school full time for two years, but preschool could have been a century ago for all I recall of the school day/home day schedule.

Forced away from my computer, focused on household chores that I could accomplish between Tylenol doses and card games, I felt more fluid. I cleared out the junk in the laundry room while Josh watched TV on the couch. We made a quick trip to the library, and ventured out to the store for milk, vegetables and treats. The dog loved the attention, and followed his little master around like a shadow.

What’s the lesson here? I’m not sure. All I know is that for a brief time, I was catapulted back to those sweet days when my little guy and I spent hours together every week, when I told clients and colleagues not to call on Wednesdays and Fridays, when I had an excuse to curl up on the couch with a four-year-old and a picture book in the middle of the afternoon.

It’s school break now – a busy, languid time. If we’re lucky, and if we plan it right, Josh and I will spend at least part of a day together again, just like old times.  This time, we’ll do it on purpose.

One thought on “Home Alone, Together

Leave a Reply

