Winding Down

I spent the last day of school break in the kitchen. By dinner time, our fridge was stocked with carrot soup, pans of roasted cauliflower and eggplant, hard boiled eggs, polenta with greens, and one batch each of lentils, barley and wheat berries.  I grated cheese, prepared tomato sauce and pizza dough, sliced carrots and chopped chocolate. Like some sort of domesticated mama bear, I prepared for the week to come – a week of carpools and play practices and homework, which is sure to leave little or no time for meal prep.

Sammy and Josh kept themselves occupied with their own version of indoor football – an elaborate game involving a squishy blue ball, my bed and a game-opening cheer. And sports drinks. Josh came running down the stairs at one point, his hair disheveled. “We need Gatorade!” he insisted. “To dump over the coach’s head! We won the Super Bowl!”

Gatorade, certainly. Dumped, no. The boys made do with their drinks in water bottles (more authentic than kitchen cups, they told me), and headed upstairs to win the Super Bowl again for the Los Angeles Earthquakes. (When you live in Detroit, you do not play “Lions football;” you invent your own team.)

It has been that sort of vacation. Lots of time at home, some bat mitzvah prep, some video games, some movies and books and play dates.  Many meals out, no lunch boxes, very little homework, no alarm clocks. I’m ready for school to be back in session, and I’m ready to go back to work. I like the ebbs and flows of the school year.

And I like knowing that no matter what else happens, I will have a good lunch tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Winding Down

  1. Isa this awhat’s in my futureA? oh aboy! I better get started on caooking! aBTW, my keyboard is adding a’s everywherae, it’s noat aasomething I’m doing on purpose… aaaaaaaaaaand thankas for some good recipe ideas! :))A Happy Newa AYearA!aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

