Boys on Bikes

When I pointed out that it was raining, Sammy laughed. He was headed to the library on his bike. Rain? Whatever. He needs more manga comics, and a little drizzle won’t hold him back.

It’s been that kind of summer –- my two boys, out on their own, riding around the neighborhood. Sammy is nearly 13, so he has crossed major thoroughfares on the way to his volunteer job at a preschool day camp, to drum lessons and the library. He’s already plowed through most of the manga in Huntington Woods; at this point he’s branching out to Royal Oak.

The first time Josh left for camp on his own, I jogged by the rec center to make sure his bike was at the rack. I mean, what if I didn’t find out till 4:00 that he hadn’t even made it? The next day, I didn’t check. He is 9, and he looks both ways at the big downhill intersection with the giant wall of shrubbery. I figure he’s as safe as a fourth grader in a safe neighborhood can be.

I feel free, maybe almost as free as they do. I am forever letting them go – one inch at a time, one block at a time, until they leave home for good.

Sammy will return with a sack full of books.  In a few days, he’ll go back out for more.  I’ll make dinner while he’s gone, and while we eat it, he can tell me about his day.

One thought on “Boys on Bikes

Leave a Reply

